OTA Emphasizes that ARP Status of 1,305 of OH's 1,308 Twps is TBD by Further Treasury Info


The Ohio Township Association (OTA) would like to again emphasize that it cannot yet be concluded that 1,305 of Ohio’s 1,308 townships are not receiving direct ARP funding. While we at the OTA believe that all 1,308 of Ohio’s townships should be considered non-entitlement units of local government, townships and the OTA must wait for Treasury’s upcoming ‘further guidance’ to non-entitlement units of local government, which will provide the true clarification for whether or not other townships will receive direct funds.

As a reminder, $2.175 billion in funding has been made available to “metropolitan cities,” those over 50K in population, including three townships; the remaining entities (including cities under 50K in population, villages under 5K in population, and hopefully, the other 1,305 of Ohio’s 1,308 townships) will be included or clarified in the upcoming ‘further guidance’ for non-entitlement units of local government. Non-entitlement units of local government in Ohio will receive nearly $844 million in funding, which is a separate pot of ARP money from the $2.175 billion.

If townships are not included in Treasury’s ‘further guidance’ as non-entitlement units of local government (which would therefore render them ineligible for direct funding), the OTA will continue its conversations with statewide and other local leaders regarding the possibility of a voluntary transfer of funds.