Class of 2024 Graduating Seniors Receive Scholarship from the OTA




Graduating Seniors Receive Scholarships from the Ohio Township Association

Blacklick, Ohio—Alexis Cupp of Madison Township in Pickaway County, Madelyn Hovest of Ottawa Township in Putnam County, Maura Johnson of Symmes Township in Hamilton County, and Trey Schmelzer of Newberry Township in Miami County are the recipients of the 2024 Ohio Township Association scholarships.

“Through fundraising and donations, the OTA is proud to be able to offer scholarships to high school graduates from Ohio townships every year,” said Heidi M. Fought, the Executive Director of the OTA. “The students receiving our scholarships this year exemplify what it means to be leaders in their academics, local governments, and trades.”

2023 Academic Achievement Winner Alexis Cupp

Cupp is receiving one of the two Academic Achievement scholarships. Daughter of Shaun and Karla Cupp, she will be graduating from Teays Valley High School and plans to attend Miami University studying linguistics.

Alexis is excited about studying linguistics because she intends to “pursue law school and believe(s) that it is important and fascinating to explore the intricacies and power of language.” Alexis chose Miami for its opportunities to pursue a variety of pathways and the welcoming nature of its faculty. She is looking forward to exploring her many interests and expanding her knowledge and leadership skills.

2024 Academic Achievement Scholarship Winner, Madelyn Hovest

Hovest was awarded the second Academic Achievement scholarship. Daughter of Brendon and Staci Hovest, she will be graduating from Ottawa-Glandorf High School and plans to attend the University of Dayton with a major in biology on the pre-medicine track.

“I chose the University of Dayton because of its strong community,” Madelyn said. “I am excited to use my education to develop skills so I can change people’s lives for the better.” She looks forward to branching out in a new environment. Madelyn is confident in the University of Dayton's opportunities and experiences that will allow her to reach her academic potential.

2024 Local Government Achievement Winner, Maura Johnson

Johnson was awarded the Local Government Achievement scholarship. Daughter of Mike and Kim Johnson, she will be graduating from Loveland High School and plans to attend The Ohio State University studying marketing at their College of Business.

"After many visits, The Ohio State University finally started to feel like home,” Maura said. “I know that their amazing business program will also help me achieve my goals.” She is looking forward to meeting new people from all over the country who also decided to attend OSU while exploring the creative aspects of her major.

2023 Trade School Winner, Hayden Wells

Schmelzer was awarded the Trade School scholarship. Son of Chad and Jeannette Schmelzer, Trey will be graduating from Bradford High School and Upper Valley Career Center and plans to attend Hobart Institute of Welding Technologies.

"I have been around welding my whole life (with) my dad,” Trey said. He admires welding for “the ability to craft something from nothing.” Trey is excited to gain more knowledge in the field of welding. He looks forward to learning more about how welding works and how machines are set up.

The OTA began offering scholarships to high school seniors in 2005. Up to five $1,500 scholarships are awarded each year in three categories: Academic Achievement, Local Government Achievement, and Trade School. Recipients must be U.S. citizens, reside in an Ohio township, and plan to attend a two- or four-year Ohio college or university or technical program in the case of the trade school scholarship. For more information about the OTA scholarships, please visit our website.




The Ohio Township Association is a statewide organization dedicated to the promotion and preservation of township government in Ohio. The OTA was founded on June 28, 1928, and is organized in 87 Ohio counties. OTA has more than 5,200 active members, made up of trustees and fiscal officers from Ohio’s 1,308 townships, and more than 3,000 affiliate and associate members.